Put a bird on it*

I’m back to work this week after a holiday staycation where I got a chance to catch up on some sewing, including this skirt, which I’m making my first review for Pattern Review, and a quick post here. I know, I know, the novelty bird print is a bit of a hipster cliche, but I love it anyway.  It’s a quilting cotton from a stash I’m trying to work through.  I’m trying to wean myself off the novelty prints, but I’ve got yards to go. (Also, sorry for the mirror shot–I need to figure out the timer on my camera or get Mr. Windows to help next time!) This is Simplicity 4235, which is a great quick pattern that I’ve made before and don’t mess with much.  It’s simple, and a good chance to practice your gathering tecnhique.

The only change I made was shortening the yoke by about 2.5 inches.  As drafted, it fell at the most unflattering position imaginable on my tummy.  I think the shorter version is fairly flattering, though.  As you can see, the skirt overall falls at mid-calf (what they’re calling a “tea length” these days), which I love, but there are people that loathe the length.  I think if were to make it shorter, I’d take some length from both the skirt and ruffle, but shave more off the ruffle to keep it hitting close to the knee, and take some of the fullness out to keep it from being too poofy with the shorter length.

*With thanks to my co-worker M for pointing me to this hilarious “Portlandia” clip.

PS Here’s the review.  One more thing I realized while writing it–I mess with this pattern a little more than I thought.  Ignore the terrible pattern instructions about finishing the waist with a bias binding and cut extra yoke pieces as facing or you’ll have a collapsing waist.  You need that facing (and interfacing) there for stability.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

