Macaron

Once again, I’m playing catch-up.  I’m getting used to the blog thing and got completely derailed last week in everything by a Neverending Sinus/Respiratory Thing.  I’m still pretty much voiceless–I sound like a broken squeak toy, which is frustrating to me, and adorable to Mr. Windows.

I did get some sewing done weekend before last, before I became a human repository for tea with honey, Sudafed, and ibuprofen.  The good news, I was productive, cranking out not just one, but two Colette patterns, and getting started on something more exciting–an evening dress for an Art Deco event I’m going to in a couple of weeks.  The bad news, I’m pretty meh about both of the things I finished.  The first, the Macaron, is below–I forged ahead with a bad mirror shot since I’m not that excited about it, and if I put this off any longer I won’t get it done.  (I’ll deal with the Sorbetto tomorrow.)

I should say, I adore the Macaron, and everything I don’t like about this version is entirely my fault. It’s a good pattern gone wrong thanks to some changes on my part and bad fabric.  I lengthened and straightened the sleeves, which I will do again if I don’t want to have a lined sleeve.  (Or, there’s this cute sleeve variation by Lazy Stitching.) I lengthened the skirt as well, which isn’t a bad thing in itself, I’ve successfully done that before.  The problem is that I unpegged the skirt as I lengthened it removing the nice taper to the Macaron as its drafted, which changed it from nicely curvy to super widening on me.  I might even make the skirt in a smaller size next time–the top of the pattern is very fitted, but the skirt is quite loose.

The other problem here is the acrylic tweed I found diving in my stash.  It wants to ravel very badly and doesn’t want to stay on grain.  I had high hopes for better construction techniques, but ended up running all the pieces through the serger as quickly as I could so they would stay together.

I still like the Spring-ness of the pastel colors, but I’m seriously thinking this is going straight to the donation box.  Maybe I’ll feel differently when the cold meds wear off.

This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

